Counseling Department

Because Jesuit education extends beyond intellectual mastery to formation of the whole person, all students are beneficiaries of the counseling program, which provides a developmental approach to students. The guidance program is student-centered, based on the student's needs and desired outcomes and rooted in the philosophies set fort by St. Ignatius of Loyola in his writings regarding Christian education and Christian values. The Jesuit Dallas guidance program helps each student to develop his talents in a direction beneficial to the student and to society.

The guidance program supports the academic, spiritual, and psychological development of each student, with the purpose of developing the ideals described by the Profile of the Graduate at Graduation: Open to Growth, Intellectually Competent, Physically Fit, Loving, Religious and Committed to Working for Justice.

Grade-level counselors work with individual students, in guidance groups, with parents and educators to strive for the magis in each student. There are two or more counselors on each of the four grade levels. The freshman, sophomore, junior and senior counseling programs each maintain class webpages as well. In addition, college placement counselors aid students in the college-selection process.

Counseling Faculty

Corey Marr
Freshman Counselor
972-387-8700 x433
cmarr@jesuitcp.org

Tim Host
Freshman Counselor
972-387-8700 x415
thost@jesuitcp.org

Timothy Murphy ’06
Freshman Counselor
972-387-8700 x528
tmurphy@jesuitcp.org

David Williams ’96
Sophomore Counselor
972-387-8700 x463
dwilliams@jesuitcp.org

Raul Ornelas ’01
Sophomore Counselor
972-387-8700 x364
rornelas@jesuitcp.org

Daniel Lingel
Junior Counselor
972-387-8700 x361
dlingel@jesuitcp.org

Paul McDaniel
Junior Counselor
972-387-8700 x361
pmcdaniel@jesuitcp.org

David Oglesby
Senior Counselor
972-387-8700 x333
doglesby@jesuitcp.org

Jack Fitzsimmons J.D.
Senior Counselor
972-387-8700 x412
jfitzsimmons@jesuitcp.org

Matt Shoemaker
College Counselor
972-387-8700 x274
mshoemaker@jesuitcp.org