Campus Life

Community Service

Community Service Announcements


  • Support the Community Service Trips to Nicaragua: The Jesuit Dallas Community Service & Social Justice department will travel to Nicaragua twice this summer and will sponsor four Catholic social service organizations. Forty Jesuit students and six faculty members will be building bathrooms and drainage, beautifying the grounds at schools and nursing homes, providing new wheel chairs to the elderly and handicapped, feeding infants and toddlers, and creating friendships without borders. Click here for more details and to make a donation to support the many projects that will take place during the summer.
  • Summer Service & Immersion Experience Program

    Applications for our summer service and immersion travel opportunities are now open! For more information, please visit the information page.

  • With school beginning soon we've had a few changes to the Community Service office location and service tracking system that we wanted to make both parents and students aware of. Primarily our offices (Mr. Perry and Mr. Mattacchione) have moved down to the Campus Ministry and Service Commons, a location which fits the mission of both programs and the formation of Jesuit students in an opportune capacity.

    The other is our move to a new service tracking system called x2VOL which is now in place. This format still makes the students responsible for entering their credit hours online as I verify them upon completion. This new system also allows students to use smartphones and tablets to login and record credits on the go, making things paperless for the most part when recording service opportunities.

    How it works:

    Students have been instructed since the beginning of June to login on to www.myx2Vol.com and sign in with their Jesuit email address as their username and their student ID # as their password. From there students should look for and click on the Opportunities tab at the top of the screen and search for the agency name for which they worked with and fill out the credits under the specific date(s) which they served. Please enter your credits and submit it for verification, and Mr. Mattacchione will approve them once you submit.

    If there are any issues with your service you will be contacted via student email. Likewise if you have any questions please contact Mr. amattacchione with any issues.

    Thank you and a have a great rest of your summer.

    Developing Men With and For Others

    Anthony Mattacchione
    Asst. Director - Community Service & Social Justice Program
    Social Justice Course Instructor Head Rugby Coach

  • Back to school Literacy Supply Drive - Benefitting Local DISD Elementary Schools
    The Jesuit Ignatian Service Program will be hosting a school-wide “Literacy Supply Drive” on August 20, 2014 through Friday, August 29 beginning with Jesuit’s annual Vos Parate (“Prepare yourself”) Day. The drive is hosted in partnership with the Jesuit Senior Service Program and “Commit to Dallas” - a local non-profit dedicated to improving education in Dallas for all children.

    We are encouraging our Jesuit families and students to bring donated items from a list of supplies in order to help students in elementary schools across Dallas prepare for their year. It is our hope that through the generosity of our school community we can make a lasting impact of the lives of children in our city.
  • Support the Community Service Trip to Alaska: Jesuit students and chaperones will travel to Alaska in June 2014 to serve at non-profit agencies throughout the city of Bethel, including the Eddie Hoffman Senior Center, Kuskokwim Alternative Learning Academy, Tundra Women's Coalition, the Yupiit Piciryariat Cultural Center and Immaculate Conception Catholic Church. All of these agencies have a Jesuit connection through the Bethel Jesuit Volunteer Corps Community. Click here for a list of the various programs in Bethel in need of financial support.

Community Service News

Contact Community Service
Rich Perry
Director of Community Service & Social Justice
972-387-8700 x402
rperry@jesuitcp.org
Anthony Mattacchione
Asst. Director of Community Service & Social Justice
972-387-8700 x360
amattacchione@jesuitcp.org
Kathy Bean
Wednesday Accountability & Drama Troupe
kbean@jesuitcp.org
Danielle Bianchi
Ignatian Scholars Program
dbianchi@jesuitcp.org
Michael Couvillon
Robotics Service Initiative
mcouvillon@jesuitcp.org
Michele Elchlepp
Canine Society Senior Placements
melchlepp@jesuitcp.org
TJ Howard
ASL Deaf Education Programs
thoward@jesuitcp.org
Pete Hudson
Alumni Service Corps
phudson@jesuitcp.org
Myles Kelley
Alumni Service Corps
mkelley@jesuitcp.org
Rick Leal
Notre Dame School Senior Program
rleal@jesuitcp.org
James Luisi
Alumni Service Corps
jluisi@jesuitcp.org
Pete O'Brien
Alumni Service Corps
pobrien@jesuitcp.org
Raul Ornelas
Manna for Others
rornelas@jesuitcp.org
Keith Reese
Service Immersion Programs & Manna for Others
kreese@jesuitcp.org
Michael Riemer
Commit to Dallas Educational Partnership
mriemer@jesuitcp.org
Patrick Triplett
Special Education Service Programs
ptriplett@jesuitcp.org
Robert Williams
RISD Peer Partnership Program
rwilliams@jesuitcp.org